Lagers · Summer beers

Longboard Island Lager and a Pulled Pork Rice Bowl

Happy Independence Day! I made a ton of pulled pork with my last recipe, so I decided to use the left overs in this week’s pairing. A rice bowl is quick and yummy. Adding in some veggies will make this a complete meal for a relaxing evening. I picked the Longboard Island Lager to accompany it. Does it make me wish I was on a beach vacation?

The Beer:

The Kona Brewing Company created the Longboard Island Lager as a tribute to Waikiki Beach and the birth place of long board surfing. I first tried this beer while in Honolulu and I really enjoyed it. Does my memory of this beer hold up?

29 June 2016 005Style: Lager with 4.6% alc. per vol.

Color: A medium wheat color.

Aroma: Sweeter than what I usually expect from Lagers.

Taste: Crisp, but mellow.

Level of Recommendation: It’s prefect for when you’re on vacation, or at least wishing you are on vacation…

The Food:

What you’ll need:

  • Basmati rice29 June 2016 008
  • Left over pulled pork (see last week’s post for details)
  • Corn
  • Carrots
  • Roasted seaweed
  • Sriracha (optional)
  • BBQ sauce (optional)

Set up the rice in your rice cooker. If you don’t have a rice cooker, I usually cook 1 cup of rice to 1-1/2 to 2 cups of water. Bring to a boil and then simmer until all of the liquid is absorbed. It’ll take about 20 minutes to a half hour.

Slice up the carrots and cut the seaweed into smaller strips. Re-heat the pulled pork and corn. Place rice in the bottom of the bowl and arrange the pork, corn, carrots, and seaweed on top.

Optional step: add in either Sriracha or BBQ sauce for an extra kick. Mix in with other ingredients. I opted for Sriracha.

The Pairing:

29 June 2016 011The saltiness of the pork and seaweed really bring out the hop flavor of the beer. The sweetness of the corn keeps things on the relaxing side. Adding in some spicy Sriracha intensifies the flavors and gives this pairing a little extra kick.

Level of Recommendation: I’m ready for vacation! Or at least helps me forget about my stressful life after work. It’s great for leftover night.

Leave a Reply

