Amber Ale · Romantic Pairing

Herbs De Provence Baked Chicken & A Vermont Amber Ale

I made the decision to try baking chicken in an oven for the first time. I know that baked chicken is usually something that a lot of people make, but I’ll be honest, I was a little intimidated to try making it. Everything you hear about food born illnesses from under-cooking the meat to stories about how dry out a chicken was because of overcooking, made me a little worry to try it. So I brought a nice meat thermometer and poured myself a glass of beer (because beer makes everything better).

The Beer:

My beer of choice this week is the Long Trail Ale and “original Vermont Amber Ale” from the Long Trail Brewing Company. It says that it’s a “full-bodied amber ale” with “complex yet clean full flavor” and I’m excited to try it.

Style: Amber Ale with 5.0% alc./vol.17 July 2016 004

Color: A deep red amber.

Aroma: It’s crisp and reminds me of being on a mountain top.

Taste: Smooth, with a slightly smokey after taste. It’s a little on the rich side for summer.

Level of Recommendation: Though I wouldn’t call it a summer beer, it has a good flavor. It makes me feel liek I should go hiking. I’d have this beer on a cool afternoon in a wooden rocking chair on the side of a mountain.

The Food:

Herbs de provence is a mild mix of herbs that goes well with chicken. I picked up my blend at my local farmer’s market instead of making my own.

What you’ll need: 17 July 2016 003

  • Chicken breast
  • Herbs de provence
  • Paprika
  • Olive oil
  • Salt
  • Pepper

Rub the chicken breasts with olive oil, herbs de provence, paprika, salt and pepper. Let sit for a little bit (in the refrigerator). Preheat the oven to 350°F.

Place aluminum foil on the baking sheet. Add the chicken and place in the oven. Bake for 25 to 30 minutes or until the chicken reaches an internal temperature of 165°F and the juices run clear. Let sit for a couple of minutes before serving.

Serve with basmati rice and sweet corn.

The Pairing:

17 July 2016 007This is a nice pairing for a romantic evening or dinner party. They smell great together. The herbs definitely bring out more of the complex flavors of the beer. There is more of an earthy or woodsy feel to the beer. Despite the fact that I really enjoyed this meal, if I could make this again, it would be in the early spring or fall.

Level of Recommendation: Good for a romantic night out (especially in the mountains).

 

Leave a Reply

