Dessert Pairing · Summer beers

Banana Boat & (Duclaw) Sweet Baby Jesus!

Summer vacation is almost over for many kids. There are many days when I really miss going back to school, then I remember my feelings during Finals and I’m glad I graduated a few years ago. So as a last hurrah for summer, I decided to make a childhood favorite: Banana Boats. I made these as a kid when camping, but you don’t have to have a campfire to make one.

As for the pairing, I wanted something equally sweet to satisfy the child inside me. I choice the Duclaw Sweet Baby Jesus, a chocolate peanut butter porter. Does it all work like the kid in me wants?

The Beer:

This is a very pretty porter. I also enjoyed the description on the bottle, advertising both the rich flavors and the reason behind the name […”just enough hops to balance aromas and flavors of robust malt, chocolate, and peanut butter so rich that just one sip you will… exclaim the name!].

August 6 2016 003
Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtle glass today guys!

Style: This is very much a porter with 6.2% alc./vol.

Color: A beautiful rich, dark color

Aroma: There’s a nice dark chocolate smell with some minor coffee and sweet peanut butter notes.

Taste: This beer has some intense peanut butter flavors in it. Hopefully you like peanut butter, otherwise you might be disappointed. Personally I love it. This beer is rich with just a hint of chocolate to balance out all the flavors.

Level of Recommendation: If you love peanut butter, than this beer is for you. I might have paired it with a dessert, but it could easily go with a grilled steak or a beautiful roast.

The Food:

Banana Boats are a classic camping dessert, kind of like s’mores and shutter-up-ers (marshmallows cooked over the fire with caramel on top which “shut you up”). Though I love making them in the hot coals of a fire, they can also be made in an oven.

What you’ll need: August 6 2016 002

  • A Banana
  • Marshmallows (tiny is preferred)
  • Chocolate chips or chunks

Preheat the oven to 300°F. Cut the banana length wise, but only about an inch deep. You don’t want to cut the whole way through as everything will fall out. Gently pull the banana wide enough to stuff it with the marshmallows and chocolate. You can also add peanut butter chips, caramels, or butterscotch chips.

Wrap the banana in aluminum foil and place in the oven. Bake for 5 minutes or until the chocolate has melted for a more “rare” banana, 10 minutes if you prefer your banana on the “well done” side.

If you have the option to use a grill or fire pit, place the wrapped banana into the hot coals and let cook for about the same amount of time. Remove from the fire with tongs as the foil will be hot.

Let rest of a few minutes before unwrapping to eat.

The Pairing:

August 6 2016 004

The sweetness of the Banana Boat isn’t too overpowering, but it does help to intensify the peanut butter of the beer. The banana also seems to make the beer feel a little more rich. The beer also helps to tone down the sweetness of the Banana Boat.

Level of Recommendation: It’s a fun dessert that really brought out the kid in me. I definitely enjoyed the flavors (especially the peanut butter). If I could, I’d take this pairing with me camping.

Leave a Reply

