Fall Beers · Pumpkin Beer · Uncategorized

Roasted Mixed Veggies & Elysian’s Night Owl

I love going to the farmer’s market in the fall. There are so many different vegetables in many different colors available. It was only last year that I found out that orange and purple cauliflower was a thing. That is why I wanted to dedicate this post to the wonderful vegetables of the season. I of course paired it with another pumpkin beer because this is the month of October and everything (with one exception) must be pumpkin themed.

The Beer:

Night Owl is one of those beers that I knew would be really good. I’m not sure if it was because of the awesome owl art on the bottle of my experience with Elysian brewing company, but I knew it would be an excellent example of pumpkin and fall merging with a beer.

iceland-079Was my prediction wrong? Let’s find out.

Style: It’s another pumpkin ale this week (I doubt they’ll go away until Halloween passes) with 6.7% alc./vol.

Aroma: It is a lot closer to pumpkin pie or a pumpkin spice latte than many other pumpkin beer’s I’ve tried this year.

Color: A deep amber with orange highlights.

Taste: It’s all smooth pumpkin pie flavors. It’s spicy, but not overpowering with plenty of cinnamon.

Level of Recommendation: If you like your pumpkin ale to taste like pie, than this is the beer for you. I really liked this one and I would defiantly drink every time Halloween rolls around.

The Food:

My method of picking vegetables to roast was basically me seeing what was in season at the farmer’s market. I grabbed a bunch of my favorite in-season veggies to roast.

What you’ll need: iceland-078

  • 1 Butternut squash
  • 1 Cauliflower
  • 1 Turnip
  • 1 Carrot (or more depending on how much space you have)
  • 1 Broccoli
  • 2 Tomatoes
  • 1/2 Zucchini
  • Olive Oil
  • Salt
  • Pepper
  • Italian Herb Blend

Start by preheating the oven to 425°F.

Peel your butternut squash and carrots. I recommend keeping the skins on your zucchini. Chop in to medium chunks all about the same size (they’ll all cook consistently that way). Toss with olive oil, salt, pepper, and herb blend. Place on a non-stick pan and place in the oven for 30 minutes. Make sure there is plenty of room between all the veggies.

Wash and cut up your cauliflower and broccoli. Peel and chop up the turnip. Toss with the olive oil, salt, pepper, and herbs. Add to the roasting sheet after 10 minutes and leave in the oven for at least 20. Try not to crowed the pan. If you have to, add in a second roasting pan.

Finally, chop up the zucchini and tomatoes. Toss with the olive oil, salt, pepper, and herbs, then add to the roasting pan at the 15 minute mark. Make sure these are left in the oven for at least 15 minutes.

Take out of the oven and eat before it gets too chilly. I recommend having an Italian herb chicken breast with it.

The Pairing:

iceland-080

I will be totally honest. I really like this beer and I felt that the roasted vegetables went well with it. The roasting process brings out really brings out the sweetness of the vegetables. In combination with the beer, the spices are brought front and center. It’s hearty and full of fall flavors.

Level of Recommendation: This pairing is for anyone who loves bold fall flavors.

Leave a Reply

