Fall Beers · Uncategorized

Kielbasa and Oktoberfest

I’m taking a quick break this week from all the pumpkin beers out there to have one last Oktoberfest. Now Oktoberfest has long since concluded in Germany, but that doesn’t mean the Oktoberfest beers aren’t still available in America. Now I already did a pairing with an Oktoberfest beer, but that one was domestic. The Spartan Oktoberfest is imported from Munich, Germany.

Will this be the break I need from all the pumpkin goodness?

I’m pairing it with another fall favorite dish of mine, kielbasa. Some of my favorite meals growing up involve sausages and kielbasa has always stood out in my memory (maybe because I rarely liked the sides we usually had with it).

The Beer:

11-10-16-003One day I will have to go to Oktoberfest. My mom went many years ago (long before I existed) and I know a couple of people who recently went. They all had a blast. Until I am able to go I either have to settle for the American version or just buy the beer and make my own food. Does Spartan Oktoberfest transport me to Germany?

Style: Märzen with 5.9% alc/vol

Color: Deep amber

Aroma: Malty

Taste: Plenty of malt flavor and a medium body

Level of Recommendation: It has the flavors of the Oktoberfest season (even if I am a few weeks late).

The Food:

I made the choice to make the kielbasa in the oven, but grilling is another great option or make them on the stove top (see my brat’s pairing here for that cooking method).

What you’ll need: 11-10-16-001

  • Kielbasa (smoked kielbasa is also an option)
  • Red peppers
  • Onions
  • Olive oil
  • Garlic
  • Salt and pepper

Preheat your oven to 350°F. Line your baking sheet with aluminum foil and place on your kielbasa. Place in the oven for about 25 minutes.

Cut up the red peppers and onions. Toss with the olive oil, salt, pepper, and crushed garlic. Spread on a second pan, making sure there is plenty of space between everything. Add into the oven for 15 minutes.

Make sure your kielbasa gets to a proper internal temperature before removing from the oven. Enjoy.

The Pairing: 11-10-16-005

I like this pairing a lot. Making the kielbasa, red peppers, and onions in the ovens gave them a little sweet flavor. This helps to bring out a little sweetness from the beer.

Level of Recommendation: It’s a good fall pairing and an excellent choice if you want to get away from all the pumpkin spice flavors.

Leave a Reply

