Holiday Pairing · Spring Pairing

After Easter Treat – Egg Salad with a Mad Tea

So I was looking around for inspiration recently and came across a site dedicated to Disney inspired adult beverages. You can find the site here.

Naturally I needed to try at least one of these drinks and with Easter coming up I thought a mad tea party inspired pairing was perfect. Especially since most people have an excess number of hard boiled eggs right after Easter. (Yes, I am aware that I am reaching here to combine the two, but I think it’s okay to throw logic out the window on occasion).

So this week I present, the After Easter Mad Tea Party…for adults.

The Drink

What you’ll need: DSCN1255

  • Iced Green Tea
  • Gin
  • Mint
  • Fresh Squeezed Orange Juice

I didn’t quite follow the recipe on the website, but I enjoyed the drink I did make. Mince some fresh mint and crush at the bottom of the glass along with some fresh squeezed orange juice.  Pour in parts green tea and gin. Garnish with an orange slice.

If I were to make this drink again, I would probably fresh the mint into ice cubes and use the rind of the orange instead of the juice, but overall this is a very enjoyable drink.

Level of Recommendation: It’s refreshing for a warm day in late spring or early summer.

The Food: 

What you’ll need: DSCN1254

  • Six hard boiled eggs
  • 1/4 cup mayonnaise
  • 2 Tbs Dijon mustard
  • Paprika
  • Salt
  • Pepper
  • Pickles
  • Toasted English muffins
  • Lettuce

Crack open the hard boiled eggs. Separate the yoke from the white part. Mix the yokes with the mayonnaise, mustard, paprika, salt, and pepper. Chop up the egg whites and pickles. Gently mix in.

Toast the English muffins until they are lightly browned. Top with lettuce and a scoop of egg salad.

The Pairing:

DSCN1258

I loved the creamy egg with the more acidic nature of the drink. The mint is a nice touch (when it doesn’t overpower the sip). The paprika adds in a gentle spicy flavor, a little smokey. It’s light, refreshing, and great for a picnic lunch.

Level of Recommendation: Prefect for an after Easter picnic.

Leave a Reply

