Summer Pairing

Crock Pot Pork Tacos with a Unique Dark & Stormy

I am in the mood for warm weather and sunshine. Currently I have neither of these things, but I hear summer is right around the corner. I’ve decided to kick start the warm season by making crock pot pork tacos and pairing it with a drink that tastes just like the Caribbean. Though, apparently a Dark ‘N Stormy is a drink under copy write and you are supposed to make it (at least that’s what wikipedia tells me). So I decided to try my take on it and call it a Unique Dark & Stormy, especially since I opted to use ginger ale instead of alcoholic ginger beer.

The Drink: 

I think I found the recipe for the drink I ended up making on Dash.com, but I’m not positive since I’ve been doing a lot of research lately without keeping track of my sources…oops. I can say though that it was definitely based off of the Dark and Stormy drink.

What you’ll need: DSCN1268

  • Ginger ale
  • Juice from 1 lime
  • Freshly grated ginger
  • Ice
  • Dark rum (I used Captain Morgan)

Place the first four ingredients in a small blender and mix for a few seconds. Drop in a shot of rum and you’ve got my version of the Dark and Stormy.

It’s a supper yummy drink. I would love to have one of these on a beach somewhere with a crystal clear blue ocean and a cloudless sky. Sadly that isn’t happening anytime soon.

Level of Recommendation: It’s the perfect beach drink.

The Food: 

Any recipe involving a crock pot is wonderful in my book. Crock pots allow for me to set up the food early in the day, get my stuff done, and have a ready made meal when I’m ready.

What you’ll need for the crock pot: DSCN1266

  • 1/2 lb of pork shoulder
  • 1/2 cup of chicken broth
  • 1/2 large onion
  • 1 large clove of garlic
  • Cumin
  • Smoked paprika
  • Crushed red pepper flakes
  • Chili powder
  • Salt
  • Pepper

Place your chopped onions into the crock pot first, then add in your pork shoulder, minced garlic, and chicken broth. Top with the spices. Personally I just eye ball the spices, depending on how spicy I want my tacos. Set on low for roughly 8 hours.

Toppings: 

  • Flour tortilla
  • Lettuce
  • Shredded cheddar cheese
  • Sliced cherry tomatoes
  • Salsa (click here for my salsa recipe)
  • Cilantro
  • Sour Cream

Build your taco!

The Pairing:

DSCN1270

These two totally go with each other. This is very much a summer dish (even though it’s still technically spring). The drink has a nice week taste that complements the spices in the tacos. The sour cream and cheddar cheese help to keep all of the flavors in check. Cilantro is a nice added touch that adds an extra kick.

Level of Recommendation: This is totally a beach pairing, even if beach season isn’t for another two months. 

Leave a Reply

