Spring Beer · Spring Pairing

Trail Mix & Tripel Ale

Hiking season is officially upon us! I love hiking. It’s great exercise and helps relive my anxiety. However, I tend to get really hungry if the hike lasts longer than a couple of hours. So I created a simple trail mix to take with me.

I also might have found a beer to go with this yummy snack.

The Beer: 

Allagash – Tripel Ale is “a golden hued ale with notes of fruit and honey”. The bottle art looks like a hiking trail, which is probably why I chose this beer to go with my trail mix.

DSCN1292Style: Belgian Style Tripel Ale with 9.0% alc/vol

Color: Medium amber

Aroma: There are notes of fresh honey.

Taste: Smooth and just a little sweet with honey flavor.

Level of Recommendation: More for a warm, rather than hot, day in late spring or early summer.

The Food: 

Trail mix is entirely up to the creator. The recipe below is just what I chose to make.

What you’ll need: 

  • 1/2 cup shaved almonds
  • 1 cup of walnuts
  • 1 cup roasted and salted peanuts
  • 1 cup dried apricots

Mix everything well.

The Pairing: 

DSCN1288

The earthy nuts (and peanuts) and semi sweet dried apricots compliments the slightly sweet beer.  It’s simple and great for hikes when you can’t carry too many things.

Level of Recommendation: When you want to drink on the trail.

Leave a Reply

